Csgo Close Look 1536x538

A closer look at the CS:GO Major Championships 

The gaming industry improved a lot and has continuously given us tons of amazing games we can enjoy. Unlike before, we can now choose from countless games that match our preferences. This also allows us to explore different game genres that will put our skills to the test. 

Among the popular genres most of us grew fond of are first-person shooter games (FPS). With these, our hand-eye coordination is put to the test as we aim to move across maps and shoot off opponents before we get killed. Although the gameplay may be similar to one another, each game has unique factors to it. One of the most popular FPS games we have now is Counter-Strike: Global Offensive or CS: GO. 

Before, people only played for fun. Today, some take the games more seriously as esports paved the way for players to become professionals. With its popularity came the fact that there are lots of gaming fans who engage in esports betting activities. One of the most popular tournaments that we have today is dedicated to CS: GO. If you haven’t heard about it yet, here is a closer look at the CS: GO Major Championships. 

What is the CS: GO Major Championships?

This event, also known as the CS: GO Majors, is an esports tournament sponsored and organized by Valve, CS: GO’s game developer. The tournament was launched in 2013 in Jönköping, Sweden. Back then, the tournament was hosted by DreamHack with a prize pool of $250,000 that was split among the 16 participating teams. 

In 2018, the competition grew bigger as it catered to 24 participating teams. Since then, the tournament expanded significantly as a prestigious tournament in the CS: GO scene. Now, the prize pool of the tournament is equal to $2,000,000. 

With the game’s popularity, the tournament can be streamed on Twitch, Steam.tv, and Youtube. 


Shortly before the 2018 tournament, Valve announced that from 24 qualifying teams, they will reduce the number of automatic Major invites to fourteen. After that, the two teams that are winless in the first phase will have to go through the Minors to qualify for the next Major. 

Tournament stages 

There are different stages that the 24 teams would have to qualify on. With that, here are the different stages of the tournament. 

  • The New Challengers Stage (formerly the Offline Qualifier)
  • The New Legends Stage (formerly the Group Stage)
  • The New Champions Stage (formerly the Playoffs)

Here, the 8 teams will have to fight to become the next Major Champion. 

Former winners 

Here is a closer look at the past seasons and the teams that dominated them. 

  • Dreamhack Winter 2013 – Fnatic 
  • EMS One Katowice 2014 – Virtus.pro
  • ESL One Cologne 2014 – Ninjas in Pyjamas 
  • Dreamhack Winter 2014 – Team LDLC.com
  • ESL One Katowice 2015 – Fnatic
  • ESL One Cologne 2015 – Fnatic
  • DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca 2015 – Team EnVyUs
  • DreamHack Open Cluj-Napoca 2015 – Luminosity Gaming 
  • ESL One Cologne 2016 – SK Gaming 
  • ELEAGUE Major: Atlanta 2017 – Astralis 
  • PGL Major: Kraków 2017 – Gambit Esports 
  • ELEAGUE Major: Boston 2018 – Cloud9
  • FACEIT Major: London 2018 – Astralis
  • Intel Extreme Masters Season XIII – Katowice Major 2019 – Astralis
  • StarLadder Major: Berlin 2019 – Astralis 

If you’re into esports betting for CS: GO, we highly suggest that you try betting for any of these amazing teams and see how well they’ll perform!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.